EXIT: The Game Kids – Riddles in Monsterville box art from Thames & Kosmos, ages 5 and up

The 6 Best Escape Room Board Games for Kids (Ranked by How Much Your Kid Can Actually Do)

As an Amazon Associate we may earn a commission from qualifying purchases made through links on this page.

The best escape room board game for kids is EXIT: The Game Kids – Riddles in Monsterville, because it is the only box in the category whose publisher promises, on one page, both that no reading is required and that the game is replayable. That combination is the whole decision. An escape room game a five-year-old cannot read is a game you read aloud, and a game that gets torn up is a game you buy once.

This is the children’s branch of a category we have already ranked for adults. In our guide to the best escape room board games, the ranking axis was what is left in the box afterwards — because the grown-up boxes are consumed by being played. For kids the axis moves. What ruins a children’s escape game is not that the box gets destroyed. It is that the parent becomes the machine: reading every card out loud, running the app, checking every answer, until the child is a spectator at their own game night.

So this list is ranked by how much of the game your kid can actually run — and both publishers in the category print the evidence themselves.

The 6 best escape room board games for kids at a glance

GamePublisher’s agePlayersLengthWhat the publisher says about readingDoes the box survive?Publisher list price
EXIT: Kids – Riddles in Monsterville5+1–420 min“No reading required” — puzzles “completely image-based”Cover: “Playable multiple times!”$17.95
EXIT: Kids – The Great Bee-scape5+1–420 minNot stated on the product page; its Amazon listing calls the cards “language-independent”Cover: “Replayable! Multiple riddle combinations”$17.95
EXIT: Kids – Midnight Spooktacular5+1–420 minNot statedCover: “Playable multiple times!”$17.95
Unlock! Kids Stories from the Past61–420 min“No app and no rules to read”No replay claim; ordinary cards$32.99
Unlock! Kids Irish Folklore61–420 minNot statedNo replay claim; ordinary cards$32.99
EXIT: Family – 2 Escape Adventures82–42 × 45–75 minNot stated; 20-page rulebookNo replay burst on the box$31.95
Every figure above is taken from the publisher’s own product page or printed on the box, checked September 3, 2026.

1. EXIT: The Game Kids – Riddles in Monsterville — the only one that promises both things

Six kinds of picture-based riddle card from EXIT: The Game Kids – Riddles in Monsterville
Publisher key art, not a packshot: the six puzzle types in Riddles in Monsterville, none of which contains a word. Image: Thames & Kosmos

Thames & Kosmos lists Riddles in Monsterville at ages 5+, 1 to 4 players and 20 minutes, designed by Inka and Markus Brand, released in 2024, at a list price of $17.95. The premise is that cookie monsters have stolen ten cookie jars from the neighborhood and your child has to solve their riddles to win them back.

Two lines on its product page decide the ranking. The first: “No reading required! Puzzles are completely image-based, making it easy for younger players to join the fun.” The second: “Replayable multiple times.” No other box in this list carries both claims, and the front of the box repeats the second one as a burst reading “Playable multiple times!” right under the monster. The publisher describes the mechanism too — six types of visual puzzle across 36 large-format cards, recombined in new ways each round, with a decoder wheel your child turns to check the answer.

The decoder wheel is the quiet reason this works. Checking your own answer is the part of an escape room a child can own completely, and it is the part that otherwise falls to whoever can read.

Who should skip it: anyone shopping for a challenge. Twenty minutes of picture logic aimed at a five-year-old is designed to be won, and the difficulty does not adjust. If your youngest is nine, you want the Family tier further down this page.

2. EXIT: The Game Kids – The Great Bee-scape — the same format, one year newer

EXIT: The Game Kids – The Great Bee-scape box art from Thames & Kosmos, ages 5 and up
Image: Thames & Kosmos

Released in 2026 and listed at ages 5+, 1 to 4 players and 20 minutes at $17.95, The Great Bee-scape follows Betty Bee, who is blown off course on her first flight and has to solve riddles for pollen to get home. Same designers, same box dimensions, same price as Monsterville.

Its cover states the replay claim more precisely than any other box here — “Replayable! Multiple riddle combinations” — which names the mechanism rather than just the promise. What it does not do is repeat Monsterville’s no-reading line on the product page, so we do not attribute that claim to it; the closest first-party evidence is its Amazon listing, written by the publisher, which describes the cards as “language-independent.” That is why it sits second and not first.

One detail worth having before it arrives: this is the only box in the list that carries a choking-hazard warning — “Small parts. Not for children under 3 yrs.” If there is a toddler in the house, that changes where the box gets stored, not whether you buy it.

Who should skip it: families who already own Monsterville and want something genuinely different. These two are the same game with different animals; buy the second one for a birthday, not for variety.

3. EXIT: The Game Kids – Midnight Spooktacular — the October buy

EXIT: The Game Kids – Midnight Spooktacular box art from Thames & Kosmos, ages 5 and up
Image: Thames & Kosmos

Ages 5+, 1 to 4 players, 20 minutes, Inka and Markus Brand, released 2025, $17.95. There is a costume party at Castle Shudderstone where only the scariest guests get in, and your child’s job is to assemble Frankengirl Vicky’s outfit. Its cover carries the same “Playable multiple times!” burst as Monsterville, printed on a gravestone.

Being honest about the sourcing: Midnight Spooktacular’s product page is much thinner than Monsterville’s. It prints the specs and the story and none of the feature bullets, so the no-reading promise is simply not there to cite. The format is identical and the age rating is identical, which is a reasonable inference and not a publisher statement, so we are not going to dress it up as one.

What earns it a slot is the calendar. A gentle, 20-minute, age-5 escape game with skeletons and a mummy on the front is the easiest Halloween purchase in this whole genre, and if you are building an October shelf our Halloween board games guide covers what else holds up on the night.

Who should skip it: anyone buying in April. It is the same engine as Monsterville with a seasonal skin, so out of season you are paying the same $17.95 for a narrower theme.

4. Unlock! Kids Stories from the Past — the most game in one box

Unlock! Kids Stories from the Past box art from Space Cowboys and Asmodee Kids
Image: Space Cowboys. The cover credits Cyril Demaegd and Marie & Wilfried Fort, whom the product page does not name.

Asmodee lists Unlock! Kids Stories from the Past — a Space Cowboys design published under its Asmodee Kids imprint — at 1 to 4 players, minimum recommended age 6, 20 minutes, at $32.99, and it was in stock at the publisher’s own store when we checked on September 3, 2026. Where an EXIT: Kids box holds one adventure, this holds six — three settings with two adventures each: a stroll through prehistory, the secrets of Hatshepsut in Ancient Egypt, and a Wild West town.

The publisher’s own framing is the reason it ranks here rather than higher or lower: Unlock! Kids is “designed for children 6-10 years of age and requires no app and no rules to read, you’ll learn as you play.” That is the same promise EXIT: Kids makes about reading, extended to the rulebook — there is a tutorial adventure that teaches the game while you play it. What the publisher does not claim anywhere is replayability, and it would be strange if it did: once your child has solved six adventures, the cards are intact and the answers are known.

Per adventure it is the cheapest thing on this list. Per second Saturday it is the most expensive.

Who should skip it: parents of a five-year-old. Six is the publisher’s floor here, not a suggestion, and the reading-free claim covers the rules rather than every card. Start at EXIT: Kids and come back to this in a year.

5. Unlock! Kids Irish Folklore — buy it for the films, not for the puzzles

Unlock! Kids Irish Folklore Trilogy box art from Space Cowboys with Cartoon Saloon artwork
Image: Space Cowboys, with artwork by Cartoon Saloon

Same specs as its sibling — 1 to 4 players, minimum age 6, 20 minutes, $32.99, in stock at the publisher — and the same three-stories-of-two-adventures structure. The difference is the license. The three stories are drawn from Tomm Moore and Cartoon Saloon’s animated films: The Secret of Kells, Song of the Sea and Wolfwalkers, and the box is subtitled the Irish Folklore Trilogy. Neither the product page nor the cover names a designer, so neither do we.

This is a conditional recommendation and we would rather say so than rank it on merit it does not have over Stories from the Past. The puzzles are the same system. What changes is whether your child recognizes Brendan, Saoirse and Mebh when they turn the card over — and if those films are already in your house, that recognition is worth more than any puzzle design decision on this page. If they are not, the prehistory box is the better $32.99.

Who should skip it: anyone who has not seen the films. Beautiful art you have no relationship with is just beautiful art, and the game underneath is identical to the cheaper-per-adventure alternative.

6. EXIT: The Game Family – 2 Escape Adventures — where the grown-up goes back to work

EXIT: The Game Family – 2 Escape Adventures box and components, including the answer disc and riddle cards
Image: Thames & Kosmos

Thames & Kosmos lists the Family tier at ages 8, 2 to 4 players and 2 × 45–75 minutes, designed by Inka, Markus and Emely Brand, released 2025, $31.95, with a 20-page rulebook. One box holds two adventures with the EXIT Heroes, five animal detectives: The Mystery at Meanstone Manor, in which animals are vanishing from the town, and The Caper at Candy Castle, in which Ham the Hamster eats too much candy and the crew investigates a sweet factory.

It is last on this list and it is the best game on it, which is only a contradiction if you ignore the axis. Look at the three numbers that changed: the age went from 5 to 8, one adventure became forty-five to seventy-five minutes, and the manual went from eight pages to twenty. Notice also what disappeared — there is no “playable multiple times” burst anywhere on the Family box, and the components shot shows STOP cards of exactly the kind the adult line asks you to fold and tear.

That is the real shape of this category. The step up from EXIT: Kids to EXIT: Family is not a step up in difficulty so much as a step back toward the grown-up doing the work — reading the rules, running the timer, holding the story together for an hour. That is a lovely evening with an eight-year-old and a bad one with a five-year-old.

Who should skip it: anyone whose youngest player is under about seven. Two of these adventures at up to seventy-five minutes each is a real board game night, not a twenty-minute activity, and the age rating is doing honest work.

What not to buy for a child yet

Three purchases look like the obvious kids’ pick and are not. All three are good games.

  • The adult EXIT: The Game boxes. Thames & Kosmos rates EXIT: The Game – The Professor’s Last Riddle at 12+ and 60 to 120 minutes, and warns in its own feature list that “some components may be marked up, folded, torn, or otherwise manipulated during gameplay.” It is a fine family game for teenagers and it is a single-use box.
  • The adult Unlock! boxes. Asmodee lists UNLOCK! Enchanted Adventures, from Space Cowboys, at 1 to 6 players, minimum age 10 and 60 minutes, and states plainly that “a free mobile app is required to play Unlock!” For a young child, handing the phone to a parent hands them the game.
  • EXIT: Nightfall Manor. Filed under family and kids by the publisher’s own tags, and rated 10+ at 2 to 3 hours with four jigsaw puzzles inside. That is a jigsaw-and-riddle evening for a fifth grader, not an escape room for a six-year-old.

There is a fourth box we deliberately have not ranked. EXIT: The Game Kids – Jungle of Riddles is the first title in the children’s line, and we cannot print an age for it: the publisher’s product page gives three different answers on the same screen — a specification block reading “Ages: 5-7,” prose describing “children ages six and up,” and a shop tag of “11 & Up.” The game is very likely fine. This site does not publish a specification it cannot check against a first-party source that agrees with itself, and on a page whose entire subject is age-appropriateness, that seemed worth saying out loud rather than quietly rounding.

How to choose in one question

Ask what you want the grown-up to be doing at minute ten.

  • Nothing at all, and the box comes out again — buy EXIT: Kids – Riddles in Monsterville. No reading, image-based puzzles, a decoder wheel your child turns, and a publisher who prints the replay promise twice.
  • Nothing, and it is nearly Halloween — buy EXIT: Kids – Midnight Spooktacular.
  • Reading the tutorial once, then getting six adventures out of one box — buy Unlock! Kids Stories from the Past, and only if your child is at least six.
  • Sitting down for a proper hour with an eight-year-old — buy EXIT: The Game Family – 2 Escape Adventures and treat it as game night, not an activity.

If none of those is it, the neighboring shelves are close. Our roundup of the best cooperative board games for kids covers the everyone-versus-the-game feeling without the puzzle format, the best puzzle board games guide picks up where the children’s lines stop, our board games by age guide is the fastest way to shop for a specific birthday, and the best educational board games for kids list is the one to read if the puzzle-solving is the point rather than the theme.

Not sure what to put on the shelf next? Get our free Top 10 Must-Have Games guide — ten games we actually keep recommending, with who each one is for.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best escape room board game for kids?

The best escape room board game for kids is EXIT: The Game Kids – Riddles in Monsterville. Thames & Kosmos lists it at ages 5+, 1 to 4 players and 20 minutes, and its product page is the only one in the category that promises both “No reading required” and “Replayable multiple times,” so a pre-reader can play it and the box comes out again.

Can a 5-year-old play an escape room board game?

A 5-year-old can play an escape room board game if you buy from a children’s line rather than scaling down an adult one. Thames & Kosmos rates all three EXIT: The Game Kids boxes at 5 and up, each covering 1 to 4 players in about 20 minutes, and says Riddles in Monsterville’s puzzles are “completely image-based.” Adult EXIT boxes start at 12+.

What is the difference between Unlock! Kids and EXIT: The Game Kids?

Unlock! Kids and EXIT: The Game Kids differ in age, length and content per box. Asmodee lists Unlock! Kids at age 6, 1 to 4 players, and packs three stories with two adventures each into a $32.99 box. Thames & Kosmos rates EXIT: The Game Kids at 5+, 1 to 4 players, 20 minutes, at $17.95 for one adventure.

Do escape room games for kids get destroyed when you play them?

Escape room games for kids do not get destroyed the way adult ones do. Thames & Kosmos warns on EXIT: The Game – The Professor’s Last Riddle that “some components may be marked up, folded, torn, or otherwise manipulated during gameplay,” but every EXIT: The Game Kids cover instead prints a “Playable multiple times!” burst, and Unlock! Kids is a plain card game.

Do you need a phone or app to play an escape room game with kids?

You do not need a phone or app for the children’s escape room games. Asmodee’s product page for Unlock! Kids states that it “requires no app and no rules to read,” while the adult Unlock! boxes say plainly that “a free mobile app is required to play.” Thames & Kosmos calls EXIT “completely card-based and unplugged,” with only an optional rules-explainer app.

Every specification on this page was read from the publisher’s own product page or from the box art, and checked on September 3, 2026. Where a publisher does not print a fact, we have said so rather than filled it in. Availability and prices at retailers change; the list prices above are the publishers’ own.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *